POSH (Plain Old Semantic HTML)

A while ago i came across the new buzzword in the tubes – POSH. So much easier to say then ‘semantic HTML’, pluss some other handy bonuses. It’s easy to verbify. I want this site Poshified, it’s a very POSH site etc. I imagine (hope) that it will be easier to sell. Like selling AJAX and web2.0 is easier then selling ‘javascript used to communicate with a database without reloading the webpage through DOMscripting and some other nifty … uh.’ I’m even advertising it in my sidebar.

So what is POSH? It’s basicly everything you probably allready know.

  • validate your markup
  • no tables for layout, or any other presentational HTML for that sake
  • use class and id names describing the content, not the looks

Check out the Microformats Wiki for more information.
So I decided not just to talk the talk, but also to walk the walk. I got myself HTML Mastery by Paul Haine . I’ve been through a number of books on CSS, but this is my virgin HTML book! Obviously I’ve spent a fair share of time reading online, but I still find books having some benefits. And so far I’m very impressed by the book. There are off course many things that I allready know, but it’s good to have all the little details explained and put together in a matter that makes since. Like the construction of the DOCTYPE, which tags are and aren’t valid, usable, the historical reasons for their alterations and so on. I’ll write a proper review on the book later, but if you are serious about your markup, and want to become POSH like all the cool kids, HTML Mastery will give you a good start.

Comments are closed.