Unlocking another iPhone

I unlocked my own iPhone a little while ago, following a lengthy tutorial. Today I unlocked another one, but this time I decided not to go the lengthy connect/disconnect and SSH and so on route.

All I needed was following the instructions on iphone.unlock.no. This let me do everything directly on the iPhone without ever connecting it to iTunes. That means

  • jailbreaking
  • installing Installer.app
  • unlocking the SIM-lock
  • Enabling international menu

I did run into one problem though. When running the AnySIM application to unlock the SIM-lock the first time I left the original AT&T card in. Using my own card afterwards did not work very well. I went through the process of “virginizing” the phone, reinstalling the 1.1.1 software through iTunes and did the whole routine from scratch again. This is all also explained on unlock.no.

The second time around things went better, but this time the anySIM unlocking got stuck in the process, not finishing the loading bar. A click on the home button brought up the springboard though. Using installer.app I installed BSD Subsystem from the System category. This made the iPhone working happily.

Too sum up, unlocking went reasonbly well, even though it took me almost 2.5 hours witht he extra fiddeling around. That still beats my previous 4 hours spent unlocking. If you do it right it shoudn’t take more than 30 minutes. So – follow the instructions on unlock.no exactly, BUT – before unlocking the SIM-lock make sure you have got

  1. BSD Subsystem installed
  2. Your own SIM-card inserted, not the AT&T card.

One last thing not to confuse with all the unlocking being mentioned, is that some SIM-cards have their own PIN-code which you must enter in order to use the phone. When the iPhone prompts you to unlock SIM (3 attempts allowed) go ahead and unlock, this has nothing to do with the actual unlocking of the SIM-lock, but it’s to let the phone use your SIM. Confusing I know.

Happy unlocking.

One response to “Unlocking another iPhone

  1. iphone related

    great music site for the iphone: http://seeqpod.net/iphone you can also build a playlist on the main site http://www.seeqpod.net and it shows up on the iphone instantly